Geen Kindle-apparaat vereist. Download een van de gratis Kindle-apps om Kindle-boeken te lezen op je smartphone, tablet en computer.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

Als je de gratis app wilt ontvangen, moet je je mobiele telefoonnummer invoeren.

kcpAppSendButton

Koopopties

Kindle-prijs: EUR 13,01
inclusief btw

Deze aanbiedingen worden op dit artikel toegepast:

Sommige promoties kunnen worden gecombineerd; anderen komen niet in aanmerking om te worden gecombineerd met andere aanbiedingen. Voor meer informatie, zie de voorwaarden die zijn gekoppeld aan deze promoties.

Laat het op je Kindle of een ander apparaat leveren

Laat het op je Kindle of een ander apparaat leveren

Kindle-app advertentie
On Trails: An Exploration (English Edition) van [Moor, Robert]

On Trails: An Exploration (English Edition) Kindle-editie

4,3 van 5 sterren 238 beoordelingen

Alle indelingen en edities bekijken Andere indelingen en edities verbergen
Amazon-prijs
Nieuw vanaf Tweedehands vanaf
Kindle-editie
EUR 13,01

Productbeschrijving

Recensie

"Like Montaigne, Mr. Moor writes about one subject as a way of touching on 100 others. Although his ostensible topic is how humans and other creatures make the routes that get them from A to B, On Trails also considers Greek mythology and the origins of life, the intricacy of caterpillar nests and the stealth of elephants, the physicist Richard Feynman and the Biblical Cain. The thicket of information here comes to resemble a densely wooded trail itself--one that Mr. Moor expertly navigates. He's a philosopher on foot, recording his journey through miles of wilderness and through a mind sorting out the meaning of travel itself. ... The only constant in On Trails is the promise of surprise."
--The Wall Street Journal

"The best outdoors book of the year. ... An outstanding work that should be read by anyone who has spent time following a footpath through the woods. Robert Moor's debut book, On Trails, trips through natural history, anthropology, gonzo reporter's adventures, and memoir in a ramble that unpacks the many meanings of the routes we humans and other animals sketch on the land. ... The prologue alone is worth the price of admission: a nearly-30-page set piece about hiking the A.T. that puts Bill Bryson and Cheryl Strayed to shame. (Moor actually, you know, completed the full thru-hike.)"
--Sierra Club

"Part natural history, part scientific inquiry, but most of all a deeply thoughtful human meditation on how we walk through life, Moor's book is enchanting."
--The Boston Globe

"A wanderer's dream, even from an armchair."
--The Economist

"Stunning ... a wondrous nonfiction debut. ... In each chapter, Moor explores the same phenomenon in a surprising new context, from the fossilized traces of prehistoric smudges to swaths of jungle flattened by elephants, from the paths of nomadic Native Americans to the interstates that paved them over. Along the way, Moor reaches into the history of science, religion, and philosophy to trace similar lines of refinement in the amassing of knowledge and ideas. ... It's an exhilarating journey."
--Departures

"You might think of Robert Moor as the Roger Angell of trail-walking. Just as Angell's reports on specific baseball games segue effortlessly into reflections on the venerable sport itself, so Moor looks up from whatever trail he may be on to see the big picture. Which is often very big, indeed. ... Highly satisfying ... On Trails is an engaging blend of travelogue, sociology, history and philosophy that might be summed up as a meditation on the centrality of trails to animal and human life."
--The Washington Post

"This book is about so many things: about breaking down the binary between 'humanity' and 'nature, ' 'civilization' and 'the wild.' It's an exploration of exploring, a philosophical-psychological-journalistic adventure in the tradition of Michael Pollan and Rebecca Solnit. ... Not all who wander are lost, and Moor helps us see what they seek."
--New York Magazine

"Moor's writing compares better with wilderness philosophers like Annie Dillard or Edward Abbey. Each chapter of this GQ writer's debut work is packed with ideas, switchbacking to and fro. Each idea is so carefully portrayed and deeply fascinating that I had to stop and catch my breath often. ... It's a beautiful trek through the human and natural landscapes of modern life."
--Chicago Review of Books

"A beautiful thing to behold. ... what a profoundly talented writer Moor is. He brings a keen essayist's eye to themes both personal and empiric; his prose is lush and lively and his analysis adroit -- all making On Trails a true treat to read."
--BuzzFeed Books

"Spectacular ... an example of narrative nonfiction at its finest. Those with a passion for walking, hiking or exploring will be naturally drawn to Moor's subject, but this is so much more than a subject-specific story; it is a book that poses big questions about humanity's place in the world (literally and figuratively) and how we've come to be here--and it's fascinating to its very end."
--Shelf Awareness

Productbeschrijving

New York Times Bestseller • Winner of the National Outdoor Book Award • Winner of the Saroyan International Prize for Writing • Winner of the Pacific Northwest Book Award • “The best outdoors book of the year.” —Sierra Club

From a talent who’s been compared to Annie Dillard, Edward Abbey, David Quammen, and Jared Diamond, On Trails is a wondrous exploration of how trails help us understand the world—from invisible ant trails to hiking paths that span continents, from interstate highways to the Internet.

While thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, Robert Moor began to wonder about the paths that lie beneath our feet: How do they form? Why do some improve over time while others fade? What makes us follow or strike off on our own? Over the course of seven years, Moor traveled the globe, exploring trails of all kinds, from the miniscule to the massive. He learned the tricks of master trail-builders, hunted down long-lost Cherokee trails, and traced the origins of our road networks and the Internet. In each chapter, Moor interweaves his adventures with findings from science, history, philosophy, and nature writing.

Throughout, Moor reveals how this single topic—the oft-overlooked trail—sheds new light on a wealth of age-old questions: How does order emerge out of chaos? How did animals first crawl forth from the seas and spread across continents? How has humanity’s relationship with nature and technology shaped world around us? And, ultimately, how does each of us pick a path through life?

Moor has the essayist’s gift for making new connections, the adventurer’s love for paths untaken, and the philosopher’s knack for asking big questions. With a breathtaking arc that spans from the dawn of animal life to the digital era, On Trails is a book that makes us see our world, our history, our species, and our ways of life anew.

Productgegevens

  • Editie: Kindle-editie
  • Bestandsgrootte: 2711 KB
  • Printlengte: 353 pagina's
  • Uitgever: Simon & Schuster; Reprint editie (12 juli 2016)
  • Verkocht door: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Taal: Engels
  • ASIN: B0176M3ZG0
  • Tekst-naar-spraak: Ingeschakeld
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Ingeschakeld
  • Schermlezer: Ondersteund
  • Verbeterd lettertype: Ingeschakeld
  • Klantenrecensies: Schrijf als eerste een recensie over dit item
  • Plaats op Amazon-bestsellerlijst: #36.033 Betaald in Kindle Store (Top 100 betaald in Kindle Store bekijken)
click to open popover

Nog geen klantenrecensies

5 sterren (0%) 0%
4 sterren (0%) 0%
3 sterren (0%) 0%
2 sterren (0%) 0%
1 ster (0%) 0%


Nuttigste klantenrecensies op Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4,3 van 5 sterren 227 recensies
ajbarlow
5,0 van 5 sterren On Trails led me through history, images and ideas like a compelling mountain hike.
1 november 2016 - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
Geverifieerde aankoop
24 mensen vonden dit nuttig
TexasBuyer 83
5,0 van 5 sterren 11/10. Yes it's that good!
16 maart 2017 - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
Geverifieerde aankoop
13 mensen vonden dit nuttig
RVG
2,0 van 5 sterren Exhausting Read
12 juni 2018 - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
Geverifieerde aankoop
7 mensen vonden dit nuttig
Dr. Bob
5,0 van 5 sterren A page turner that's almost as good as peeling off your socks after you've been hiking all day. Very satisfying!
27 januari 2017 - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
Geverifieerde aankoop
5 mensen vonden dit nuttig
Camp Runamok
4,0 van 5 sterren A fun book that goes far afield.
15 augustus 2017 - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
Geverifieerde aankoop
4 mensen vonden dit nuttig