Geen Kindle-apparaat vereist. Download een van de gratis Kindle-apps om Kindle-boeken te lezen op je smartphone, tablet en computer.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

Als je de gratis app wilt ontvangen, moet je je mobiele telefoonnummer invoeren.

kcpAppSendButton

Koopopties

Catalogusprijs digitale editie: EUR 11,80
Kindle-prijs: EUR 1,39

Bespaar EUR 10,41 (88%)

inclusief btw

Deze aanbiedingen worden op dit artikel toegepast:

Sommige promoties kunnen worden gecombineerd; anderen komen niet in aanmerking om te worden gecombineerd met andere aanbiedingen. Voor meer informatie, zie de voorwaarden die zijn gekoppeld aan deze promoties.

Laat het op je Kindle of een ander apparaat leveren

Laat het op je Kindle of een ander apparaat leveren

Sorcerer to the Crown (Sorcerer to the Crown novels) (English Edition) van [Cho, Zen]
Kindle-app advertentie

Sorcerer to the Crown (Sorcerer to the Crown novels) (English Edition) Kindle-editie

4,2 van 5 sterren 170 beoordelingen

Alle 2 indelingen en edities bekijken Andere indelingen en edities verbergen
Amazon-prijs
Nieuw vanaf Tweedehands vanaf
Kindle-editie
Kindle-editie, 10 sep 2015
EUR 1,39

Productbeschrijving

Recensie

"An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide."--Naomi Novik, "New York Times" bestselling author of the Temeraire novels
"A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it!" --Kate Elliott, author of the Spiritwalker series
"A deliciously true tale of politics and power in a charming, cruel world--it demands and deserves to be read again and again. Cho has humor and flair to match Pratchett and Heyer plus her own marvelous style."--Karen Lord, author of "The Best of All Possible Worlds "

"Inventive, dangerous, brilliant, unsettling, and adorable, all at the same time. It shatters as many rules as its characters do. Historical Britain will never be the same again, and I can't wait for the next book."--Courtney Milan, "New York Times" and "USA Today" bestselling author

An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide. Naomi Novik, "New York Times" bestselling author of the Temeraire novels
A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it! Kate Elliott, author of the Spiritwalker series
A deliciously true tale of politics and power in a charming, cruel world it demands and deserves to be read again and again. Cho has humor and flair to match Pratchett and Heyer plus her own marvelous style. Karen Lord, author of "The Best of All Possible Worlds"

Inventive, dangerous, brilliant, unsettling, and adorable, all at the same time. It shatters as many rules as its characters do. Historical Britain will never be the same again, and I can't wait for the next book. Courtney Milan, "New York Times" and "USA Today" bestselling author
Fast-paced and witty...Should appeal to fans of Mary Robinette Kowal and Gail Carriger. Elizabeth Bear, author of "Steles of the Sky
" Fun, smart, great characters, ...excellent magic...Adelight of a book. Kat Howard, author of "Roses & Rot"
Set in an alternate, magical England during the Napoleonic Wars, Cho s debut novel is at once a comedy of manners and a sharp metacomment concerning racism and misogyny in the fantasy genre...A classic, gently barbed upper-crust comedy mixed with magical thrills, modern social consciousness, and a hint of political intrigue. A decidedly promising start. "Kirkus Reviews"
Cho weaves drama and humor together seamlessly in this tale of a magic-drenched Napoleonic-era Britain..."Sorcerer to the Crown" establishes Cho as a superior novelist of note. "RT Book Reviews "(Top Pick)
Cho s delightful debut novel skillfully blends fantasy and intrigue with issues of race and gender politics...[Cho] knits together a dizzying array of taut story lines populated by complex characters with interesting backstories. "Publishers Weekly "(starred review)"

An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide. Naomi Novik, "New York Times"bestselling author of the Temeraire novels
There are several ways in which Zen Cho s "Sorcerer to the Crown" invites comparison with Susanna Clarke s bestselling, BBC-adapted "Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell" Absolutely everything about this book is delightful Witty, wise and wonderful, "Sorcerer to the Crown" is an admirable achievement and a deep delight. NPR.org
A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it! Kate Elliott, author of the Spiritwalker series
A deliciously true tale of politics and power in a charming, cruel world it demands and deserves to be read again and again. Cho has humor and flair to match Pratchett and Heyer plus her own marvelous style. Karen Lord, author of "The Best of All Possible Worlds
"
Inventive, dangerous, brilliant, unsettling, and adorable, all at the same time. It shatters as many rules as its characters do. Historical Britain will never be the same again, and I can't wait for the next book. Courtney Milan, "New York Times "and"USA Today"bestselling author
"Sorcerer to the Crown" felt like "Pride and Prejudice" but with magic and race, which makes Zen Cho Austen crossed with Susanna Clarke and Ignatius Sancho I am utterly in love. Tor.com
Set in an alternate, magical England during the Napoleonic Wars, Cho s debut novel is at once a comedy of manners and a sharp metacomment concerning racism and misogyny in the fantasy genre...A classic, gently barbed upper-crust comedy mixed with magical thrills, modern social consciousness, and a hint of political intrigue. A decidedly promising start. "Kirkus Reviews"
Cho weaves drama and humor together seamlessly in this tale of a magic-drenched Napoleonic-era Britain..."Sorcerer to the Crown"establishes Cho as a superior novelist of note. "RT Book Reviews"(Top Pick)
Cho's delightful debut novel skillfully blends fantasy and intrigue with issues of race and gender politics...Cho's tale knits together a dizzying array of taut story lines populated by complex characters with interesting backstories. Zacharias brings to mind another orphaned young wizard whose combination of grit and melancholy captured readers' hearts, and ingenious, gutsy Prunella simply shines. "Publishers Weekly" (starred review)
Acaptivating debut that, aside from examining both gender and racial prejudice, tells an entertaining story with wit and consummate skill. "The Guardian"(UK)"

Productbeschrijving

Winner of the 2016 British Fantasy Society Award for Best Newcomer
Shortlisted for the 2016 British Fantasy Society Award for Best Novel
Shortlisted for the 2016 Locus First Novel Award

Hugo-Award winning author Zen Cho's Sorcerer to the Crown is a Regency romp with a pinch of fairyland.

In Regency London, Zacharias Wythe is England's first African Sorcerer Royal. He leads the eminent Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers, but a malicious faction seeks to remove him by fair means or foul. Meanwhile, the Society is failing its vital duty – to keep stable the levels of magic within His Majesty's lands. The Fairy Court is blocking its supply, straining England's dangerously declining magical stores. And now the government is demanding to use this scarce resource in its war with France.

Ambitious orphan Prunella Gentleman is desperate to escape the school where she's drudged all her life, and a visit by the beleaguered Sorcerer Royal seems the perfect opportunity. For Prunella has just stumbled upon English magic's greatest discovery in centuries - and she intends to make the most of it.

At his wits' end, the last thing Zachariah needs is a female magical prodigy! But together, they might just change the nature of sorcery, in Britain and beyond.

'An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises' - Naomi Novik, author of Uprooted.


Productgegevens

  • Editie: Kindle-editie
  • Bestandsgrootte: 1433 KB
  • Printlengte: 382 pagina's
  • Uitgever: Macmillan; Main Market editie (10 september 2015)
  • Verkocht door: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Taal: Engels
  • ASIN: B00UXKJ0GM
  • Tekst-naar-spraak: Ingeschakeld
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Ingeschakeld
  • Schermlezer: Ondersteund
  • Verbeterd lettertype: Ingeschakeld
  • Klantenrecensies: Schrijf als eerste een recensie over dit item
  • Plaats op Amazon-bestsellerlijst: #1.029 Betaald in Kindle Store (Top 100 betaald in Kindle Store bekijken)
click to open popover

Nog geen klantenrecensies

5 sterren (0%) 0%
4 sterren (0%) 0%
3 sterren (0%) 0%
2 sterren (0%) 0%
1 ster (0%) 0%


Nuttigste klantenrecensies op Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4,3 van 5 sterren 167 recensies
Ariel Segall
5,0 van 5 sterren Rich fantasy in a realistically complicated world.
28 september 2016 - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
Geverifieerde aankoop
16 mensen vonden dit nuttig
Waites Family
4,0 van 5 sterren *Review from The Illustrated Page*
12 november 2016 - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
Geverifieerde aankoop
7 mensen vonden dit nuttig
Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense
5,0 van 5 sterren Nearly Perfect
1 augustus 2017 - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
Geverifieerde aankoop
4 mensen vonden dit nuttig