Geen Kindle-apparaat vereist. Download een van de gratis Kindle-apps om Kindle-boeken te lezen op je smartphone, tablet en computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Als je de gratis app wilt ontvangen, moet je je mobiele telefoonnummer invoeren.

Kindle-prijs: EUR 0,99
inclusief btw

Deze aanbiedingen worden op dit artikel toegepast:

Sommige promoties kunnen worden gecombineerd; anderen komen niet in aanmerking om te worden gecombineerd met andere aanbiedingen. Voor meer informatie, zie de voorwaarden die zijn gekoppeld aan deze promoties.

Leveren op je Kindle of een ander apparaat

Leveren op je Kindle of een ander apparaat

Minor: Volume One (The Journals of Meghan McDonnell Book 1) (English Edition) van [McDonnell, Meghan]
Kindle-app advertentie

Minor: Volume One (The Journals of Meghan McDonnell Book 1) (English Edition) Kindle-editie


Alle indelingen en edities bekijken Andere indelingen en edities verbergen
Amazon-prijs
Nieuw vanaf Tweedehands vanaf
Kindle, 18 dec 2015
"Probeer het later opnieuw"
EUR 0,99

Lengte: 170 pagina's Verbeterd lettertype: Ingeschakeld Bladeren: Ingeschakeld
Taal: Engels
  • Gelijksoortige boeken als Minor: Volume One (The Journals of Meghan McDonnell Book 1) (English Edition)

Heb je feedback?
Klik hier om een korte enquête in te vullen. Jouw mening is heel belangrijk voor ons. Feedback geven.

Productbeschrijving

Productbeschrijving

Minor is the first installment of the personal journals in which, for over 20 years, writer Meghan McDonnell has chronicled her life beginning at age eight through present day. With searing candor and tenderness, her musings on daily life and observations of family, social and romantic relationships coalesce in a commentary on growing up, facing down passion and fear, and American life in the 21st century. Wide in scope and vivid in detail, her journals are her confessional love letter to the world. Join her on a fearless, vulnerable, sometimes painful and quixotic, but always honest journey, also known as the human experience. Readers who love Cheryl Strayed or Karl Ove Knausgaard will enjoy this author.

Volume one spans her eighth year through age 17; reflections on family, friendship, education, a stint at survival camp and coming of age.

Productgegevens

  • Editie: Kindle-editie
  • Bestandsgrootte: 1617 KB
  • Printlengte: 170 pagina's
  • Gelijktijdig gebruik van apparaten: Onbeperkt
  • Verkocht door: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Taal: Engels
  • ASIN: B0195KUAG4
  • Tekst-naar-spraak: Ingeschakeld
  • X-Ray:
  • Schermlezer: Ondersteund
  • Verbeterd lettertype: Ingeschakeld
  • Gemiddelde klantenbeoordeling: Schrijf als eerste een recensie over dit item
click to open popover

Klantenrecensies

Er staan nog geen klantenrecensies op de Nederlandse site.
5 sterren
4 sterren
3 sterren
2 sterren
1 ster

Nuttigste klantenrecensies op Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.5 van 5 sterren 4 recensies
5.0 van 5 sterren Sincere, honest, and real! 11 april 2016
door Charity Rowell-Stansbury - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
Geverifieerde aankoop
Beginning in 1987 and chronicling her life until 1997, McDonnell reveals her innermost thoughts and secrets; a fact that cannot be ignored as the formatting in Minor is similar to what you would find in a diary, or journal.

The formatting of Minor is definitely unique, and it reminds readers that they are reading an uncensored and candid re-telling of a person's life. There are a few grammatical errors, but these minor errors lend an air of authenticity to the book which serves to remind readers that McDonnell's reflections are transcribed from her earlier days.

Readers are guided through a collage of memories that discuss lost friendships, new friendships, crushes, life-defining music, drama at home and in school, unrequited love, travelling, books, and teenage angst punctuated by periods of alcohol and drug use as McDonnell shares her perspective on life as a girl and teenager.

There were moments when I smiled at some of the colloquialisms used and the music references, because I remember what those words used to mean and I remember listening to the same songs. I empathized with the young McDonnell when she struggled to figure out where she fit in society, or the world because I remember feeling the same at that age.

I could not relate to some of the moments in her life because I grew up in a different kind of household. However, it is nice to know that some aspects of being a teenage girl are universal; even if our teenage selves would have rolled our eyes at the prospect, and remained convinced that nobody could even come close to understanding us.

Minor may not be a polished memoir; however, it is sincere, honest, and real.
4.0 van 5 sterren Candid and honest.... 28 augustus 2016
door Rajalakshmi Prithviraj - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
28376717

Minor is a memoir of a young teen, the trials and tribulations that she goes through during her growing up years.

The book is written in the form of a journal and has all the essence that a personal journal is to have. It is candid, brutally honest and shows the emotions that Meghan must have gone through at that phase of life. It is a chronological account of the nineties and those belonging to this era would definitely be able to associate themselves with the songs, the language and the social fabric per se.

Sometimes, penning down one's thoughts and reading them later definitely helps one to emerge stronger and a better person. This is clearly evident from this journal as well. Meghan has bared a part of her soul and it does take lot of courage to do so. In the process, you end up showing your vulnerable side to the world. Kudos to you Meghan for being able to do so.

Teenage and teenache go hand in hand. There are lot of peer pressures to cope up with. The demands of social life, parental expectations, family dynamics, in fact so many associated things. This personal account of the author helps bring out the confusions and confessions that a teenager goes through during her growing up years.

To sum up, the very fact that Meghan has been able to be brutally honest and shared a part of her own life with the readers is commendable. It requires a lot of courage and pluck to do so. If you want to drift back to the nineties or want to understand that wondrous era gone by, do read this.

P.S- Meghan, your journal made me relive my Minor days as well well. Loved your candid writings.
4.0 van 5 sterren Totally Real 3 juli 2016
door Amy's Bookshelf Reviews - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
Geverifieerde aankoop
This is the chronicles or journal of McDonnell. It's an interesting view and collection of her own personal journals. The journals give observation, vulnerability, feelings, and even actions that are expressed through a girl's diary. I like how the book was put together, but do wonder what was not put in the journals, and I guess that's part of the fun of reading it. It's an honest look into McDonnell and her journey of growing up. Look forward to book 2. 
5.0 van 5 sterren Going through my own memories 28 juni 2016
door Carmen - Gepubliceerd op Amazon.com
This book brought back my own memories of growing up in the 90's, and I enjoyed that. I found that Meghan was very social and well-traveled. I got a copy in exchange for an honest review.